Kim Davis: Christian or Hypocrite?

Media has been abuzz with the case of Kim Davis, a Kentucky clerk who has repeatedly refused to issue marriage licenses to same-sex couples.  She claims that the Word of God and His laws supersede that of the highest court in the land.  As a Roman Catholic/Christian (more on this in a later post), I do agree with her, with some reservations.  If you haven’t read the latest, you can do so here.  (I picked the news outlet based on the information it had, not its political agenda/alliances or anything of the sort.)

Remember, I am a gay/questioning/whatever-you-wanna-call-it man, so I do feel “entitled” to speak on this subject.  My Roman Catholic beliefs do state that homosexual acts, not being a homosexual, is a sin because it abuses the gift of sexuality.  My Christian beliefs dictate that sin, no matter how grave, is ultimately forgiven if you believe Jesus Christ is your savior.

So as you can see, I am conflicted.  However, one thing I respect unconditionally is her supposed faith.  If how she says she feels is the real thing, more power to her.  Regardless of the disrespectful attitude she exhibited, this woman is in jail for practicing what she thinks is correct.  If this is not the definition of being chastised and persecuted for your religious beliefs, I don’t know what is.

On the other hand, her beliefs are directly infringing on the rights of others, ultimately barring individuals for living how they want to live.  It is very difficult, if not impossible, to justify doing so.  Although I heard the judge presiding over the case has made things worse (not sure how, I haven’t read the article), he stated, in essence, that as a Roman Catholic he does not agree with the idea of same-sex marriages, but it is not his place to stop others from living their lives.

In general, the situation is completely over-exaggerated.  If Davis is unable to carry out the responsibilities of her job, then the most astute thing to do is resign or find another position.  As a hypothetical, if I work with a physician who is eventually asks me to assist in an abortion, I would feel forced to decline and if so be it, find another position.  I am not good at creating effective analogies, but I believe this one gets the point across.

In my opinion, she should be released with the condition that she find another job that aligns with her religious practices.  I hope she has the courage/wisdom to acknowledge that she cannot stop others from living their lives.

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Kim Davis: Christian or Hypocrite?

  1. There’s an important difference between ending up in jail BECAUSE of what you believe, and going to jail FOR what you believe. She’s not in jail for her beliefs. She’s there because she defied a direct, legal court order, and for refusing to desist from intimidating the 5 (out of 6) deputy clerks who were willing to comply and provide the licenses. First off the marriage license is only a “permission slip”, it isn’t equivalent to officiating at, or being a matron of honor in a same-sex wedding. And County Clerks are functionaries, not lawyers or judges. They have no legal standing to qualify the laws behind the forms they provide and process. Since Mrs. Davis refused to do the part of the job she objects to, refused to stop preventing her deputies from doing it, and refused to resign, she didn’t give the judge much choice. The judge has a duty to see to it laws are carried out, so he couldn’t wait until 2016 when the KY legislature comes back into session to examine the possibility of her impeachment or removal. He was probably also aware that right-wing organizations were all lined up to pay any fines for her. The only alternative left, especially since she wouldn’t promise to stop harassing the other employees, was to imprison her for contempt. He could also have charged her with obstruction of justice for defying the court order, but didn’t.

    You and I agree that the honorable thing to do, if you are asked to do something you have a moral objection to, is resign. And it’s a completely normal experience for most workers to have to face that choice when a boss or business asks you to do something you object to. I gave up the highest-paid position in my career when a supervisor demanded I lie to cover for him. Oaths matter too. I’m a medical asst. and imaging tech. I was required to take oaths to serve every patient without exception, to get my licenses. I’ve dug bullets out of gang members, to help save their lives. Do you think I would be given the option to refuse to treat them because they are engaged in an evil lifestyle? Mrs. Davis took oaths to do her duty to the residents of her county. There wasn’t any “unless I object” clause. She made a solemn promise. If she can’t do the job for any reason, she’s morally obligated to resign.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

