False Pretenses

It’s amazing, almost comical, how many temporary people you meet between the ages of 18 and 24.

You meet somebody and you end up liking him or her, platonically of course, only to be at the receiving end of unanswered text messages and in the middle of a vast distance even though they sit across from you during lunch.

I think it’s because at this point in life, the search for good looking friends is never ending.  As a society, the obsession with superficiality and attractiveness is more pervasive then ever before.  I am ashamed to say that even I fall victim to this undesirable practice.  This is not to say that unattractive people aren’t “worthy” of being my friends, but I am constantly on the look out for friends that may turn into something else.  Or maybe, I suck?  Yeah, that’s probably right.

At any rate, now that I write down my thoughts, it becomes evident that I am tired of looking for friends.  I have enough of them; well, enough that I am satisfied with my relationship with them.

Still, the lack of effort from other people to pursue a friendship is astounding.  I mean, am I reaching for the stars here? No, I don’t think so.  (I hope you captured the Devil Wears Prada reference there.  No?  Oh, well.)

One thought on “False Pretenses

  1. I’ve realized its better to be content with a few quality friends. I used to party a lot and had over 300 people in my phone’s contacts but when I really needed people, there was only about 15 or so people really there for me. Don’t have a wandering eye when it comes to guys or friends. Just work to keep the good ones around.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

