Hi, my name’s available, I mean (INSERT NAME HERE).

There are so many times in which I wanted to introduce myself like this.  Am I alone in this?  Anybody?

Take yesterday, for example.  I was on my way to pick up a scantron for my exam when this guy caught my eye.  As we crossed each other, we looked at each for more than socially acceptable as our eye contact did not break until we had completely passed each other.  It didn’t feel like anything, but still.

I knew from his face, a good beard and good teeth, nice eyes, and from his arms that I would have introduced myself if given the chance.  Perhaps not as desperately as I would imagine, but just enough to let him know there was a definite attraction towards him.

Is it normal to be intimidated by the experience I think other people have?  This is coming from someone who has literally never been kissed.  Ever.

In my head, everyone has had sex with other people.  Everyone has been kissed.  Everyone has some experience.  I am alone.  Not in the literal or emotional sense, but in the sexual.

So tell me, because I have no idea: Am I part of the norm or considered an outlier in the broad spectrum of human experience?

10 thoughts on “Hi, my name’s available, I mean (INSERT NAME HERE).

  1. Oh how do I love a man with a good beard! You know you did the first part right. Eye contact! It’s so important. It does let someone know you’re interested. Now, next Step say something. Hi, how are you? A a good start! It doesn’t have to be witty. Just has to be you:) you might enjoy my dating posts at liveclarelesleyblog.com I love helping people get out and date!

    Like

  2. you’re perfectly fine. I was so embarrassed because very recently, my own sexual and even romantic experience was super-low. I met a guy who had even LOWER numbers of experiences. We are each other’s first real relationship, at the tender age of 25. Don’t sweat it. Don’t rush the process.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If there’s one thing I would hate to do, it’s to rush anything. Rushing through life only yields half-assed experiences and regrets you may not be able to overcome. What scares me the most about my lack of experience is how I would handle a relationship once I am in one. Loyalty is one of the biggest things with me and I fear I will be the “jealous” type. Only time will tell!

      Like

  3. There is nothing wrong with you. You’re as normal as you need to be. I am 25 and still a virgin. I used to be embarrassed by it but, now it doesn’t bother me. We don’t just want to give it up to anyone. Am I right?

    It will happen when it happens

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment! I’m not embarrassed at all. In this day and age, we are basically unicorns; which is great, by the way. There are parts of me that would love to be with just one person my entire life, but other parts would love to not care and have a good ass time. It is always reassuring, however, to know there are other people just like me out there. With more than 7 billion people on the planet, it’s easy to forget how many other people have experiences, or lack thereof, just like yours.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You are absolutely normal. There have been and will be so many times I just feel paralyzed when I catch the eye of an attractive guy that I just end up walking the other way.

    Like

      1. You will find someone, don’t put a time line on and just focus on things you like to do, when the time is right and it might be tomorrow or 5 years from now, the person that is right for you will come along, and have some fun along the way.

        Like

Leave a Reply

