Where to start?

Today marks my 6th day in Spain.

Whoa, that went 0-100 real quick.  Let me turn back the clock just a little bit…..

clock_reversed

Friday, December 11th

I finish my final exam.  Pretty easy and I’m pretty sure I won’t get anything less than an ‘A’ in my class.  The verdict is still out for two of my other classes, but they don’t look too bad either.

I drove back home as my flight to Spain departed from there.  My friend agreed to go out one night and a day later we went shopping and spent some money as it’s December and what else is there to do but spend money……..

Monday, December 14th

My flight leaves to London first and then to Spain.  Not too comfortable as there was barely any space.  However, the wine was free so I had about 4 glasses of that (by glass I mean the plastic cups they give to us hoi polloi).  Needless to say, I was feeling pretty good for about an hour and a half.  Then I came down and the rest of the flight was basically torture.  Sleep deprivation is a serious thing, you guys.  After 8 hours, the flight landed.

An hour later my flight to Spain departed.

Tuesday, December 15th

Finally! Spain.  With my flight leaving at 8 and the 6 hour time difference, I landed at around 2 on this day.

The first order of business: eating.  My family here owns a restaurant, but it was packed, so we had no choice but to eat at a pizza/burger place next door.  Absolutely delicious.

Apparently, since Spain is a major producer of wine, it is actually very cheap here: about 2 euros a glass.  No, you didn’t read that incorrectly.  In some places, Coca-cola is more expensive than wine.  This comes as an absolute pleasure because, if you didn’t know, I LOVE wine.  After this, I ran some errands with my aunt and uncle who then took me back to their house for the first time.  After unpacking, we went out for dinner with my two cousins and their girlfriends as a sort of welcome dinner for me.  It was nice being able to catch up with them after so many years.

Wednesday, December 16th

We woke up early, as my aunt is taking care of someone in middle school and a visit to the restaurant was required.  Perfect, as I was able to have breakfast.  I was surprised by how nice the restaurant is, not that my expectations were low in any capacity.  It’s named after a famous painter and is decorated very nicely.  After speaking with my uncle for a bit, I was able to bake quiche in the kitchen.  I’ve always wanted to cook in a restaurant to I suppose I can cross this off my bucket list.

My aunt had to finish up some business before she took me a on quick tour of Spain.  We drove past a couple of famous plazas and drove down various streets, one of them being the most expensive street in Madrid; Gucci, Jimmy Choo, Dior, Salvatore Ferragamo, and countless other stores drenched the street in textile gold.  We drove back to the restaurant to have lunch and before I knew it, after a couple more errands, it was dinner time.  We ate at the house and it was time to pack again, as Barcelona awaited us the next day.

 

To be Continued…….

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Where to start?

Leave a Reply

